top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa Perry

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia

Where: Russia (11 host cities)

When: 14 June – 15 July

Current champions: Germany (Rio 2014)

On 14 June 2018, Russia will host 32 countries from around the world. Eleven host cities will host 48 pool matches and 16 knockout matches between the different countries.

Africa has produced 5 countries that have qualified for the world cup. Bafana Bafana failed to qualify after their double loss to Cape Verde and Senegal. The 5 African countries ( Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia), that will be competing against 14 European, 5 Asian, 3 North and Central American and 5 South American teams.

Ticket prices vary from 1 280 Russian Rubbles to 66 000 (ZAR 13 200).

Fun Facts:

1. Wolf Zabivaka is the official mascot.

2. Brazil has won 5 out of 20 world cups.

3. Italy failed to qualify.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page